BLAST from PAST (or maybe not): A radio commentary from 2008 on the looming financial peril

The following is one of seven radio essays I recorded in late 2008 for a local radio station, WEBR. The essays were ultimately incorporated into a larger radio program hosted by Leo Gerard.

I have not listened to this essay since that time, and only ran across it by accident the other day. I have close to 200 videos up on Youtube on all things weird and wonderful and my channel (by the oddest coincidence called ‘Norman Ball’) has had over 1.2 million views. So these very much fell by the wayside. I really put them up there for the purpose of time capsuling/storing them. I’m glad now that I did. I urge folks to take a listen to at least this first one in the seven-part series. It’s close to nine minutes long. They’re all up there.

There’s very little I would change in it today. 2015 is 2008, only prolonged and escalated into an almost mind-boggling level of peril. My thinking since this time has only deepened and broadened on many fronts. Yet the kernel, surprisingly to me, is much the same. We are in the final throes of a financial –nay a civilizational– paradigm that I date back 500 years to the dawn of the Age of Exploration and the advent of risk capital (for exploratory voyages of the New World). The image is clickable to Youtube.

ff essay 1

BLAST from PAST (or maybe not): A radio commentary from 2008 on the looming financial peril

Leave a Reply

